To save a draft of a record prior to its creation, you can simply click the "Save Draft" button at the bottom of your New Record page.  See the bottom of this help document for guidance on how to locate a draft created by an employee user.  Accordingly, if you want to delete the draft, you can click the "Discard Draft" button to the left of the "Save Draft" button. 

Did this answer your question?